

February 3, 2016 Joint Field Office: Jefferson City, Mo. DR-4250-MO NR-06 FEMA News Desk: 573-636-2611 SBA News Desk: 916-200-9813

## News Release

## **Centers Opening in St. Louis and St. Charles Counties to Help Missouri Flood Survivors**

**JEFERSON CITY, Mo.** – FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers are opening Thursday, February 4, in St. Louis and St. Charles counties. The centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in any of the 33 Missouri counties included in the Jan. 21, 2016, Missouri federal disaster declaration.

Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and other agencies will be at the centers to discuss aid and assist anyone who needs help with an application. The two new centers opening tomorrow are at these locations:

The St. Louis County center is at Jefferson Barracks Visitor Center, 345 North Road, St. Louis, MO 63125.

The St. Charles County center is at Immaculate Conception Community Center, 14060 N. State Route 94, West Alton, MO 63386.

Recovery centers are also currently open in Franklin and Jefferson counties at these locations:

The Franklin County center is at the Tri-County Senior Center, 800 W. Union Street, Pacific, MO 63069.

The Jefferson County center is at the Arnold City Hall, 2101 Jeffco Blvd., Arnold, MO 63010.

The centers are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. through Saturday, Feb. 6. Starting Monday, Feb. 8, center hours will be 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday. The centers are closed on Sundays.

Disaster survivors may visit any of the centers for assistance.

There are two main types of federal disaster assistance. FEMA provides grants to qualified individuals for rental assistance, home repairs, or other serious disaster-related losses. SBA makes low-interest disaster loans to help homeowners and businesses rebuild and recover.

Individuals and businesses are encouraged to register with FEMA before visiting a disaster recovery center. Register online at <u>www.DisasterAssistance.gov</u> or by calling toll-free **800-621-FEMA (3362)**, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual registration assistance is available. Survivors may also register using the fema.gov app for smartphones.

Disaster assistance applicants who are hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use TTY should call **800-462-7585**. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) should call **800-621-3362**.

Locations of recovery centers may be found through a link from the home page of <u>www.DisasterAssistance.gov</u> or <u>TinyURL.com/43xlto5</u>.

The federal disaster declaration covers eligible losses caused by flooding and severe storms between December 23, 2015, and January 9, 2016, in these counties: Barry, Barton, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cole, Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Lincoln, Maries, McDonald, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Scott, St. Charles, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright.

## ###

For breaking news about flood recovery, follow FEMA Region 7 on Twitter at <u>https://twitter.com/femaregion7</u> and turn on mobile notifications or visit the FEMA webpages dedicated to this disaster at <u>www.fema.gov/disaster/4250</u>.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

All FEMA disaster assistance will be provided without discrimination on the grounds of race, color, sex (including sexual harassment), religion, national origin, age, disability, limited English proficiency, economic status, or retaliation. If you believe your civil rights are being violated, call 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585(TTY/TDD).